Vase Lift

This is an old vase my mom gave me in oh…1996. It really felt like it was aging and needed a lift! I never really liked it much anyway.

Image

Beginning of pulling rope off

Image

Looking kinda, well you can fill in the blank here.

Image

It wasn’t hard pulling the rope off. But it was looking pretty hairy!!!

Sanded down pretty good

Sanding it down

So I sanded away all the nasty looking fuzz. And this is how it looked after. Some of the paper backing stuck. I was hoping it would work well to give it a ‘peeling away’ look. I used duck egg blue chalk paint.

I wanted it to look like a old vase where the paint had come off in places. I still think I may need to do something else maybe add some shine- but as of now here it is!

DSC_0275_2

CSC_0280

5 thoughts on “Vase Lift

  1. Reblogged this on blueribbonfair and commented:
    It is Tuesday and my thought are on Tutorials. I found a great post on how a creative individual took a large vase and remade it over to have that ancient look. I really liked how she did this and wanted to encourage her by sharing what she did here. You and I may not have the exact vase as she did, but maybe we could learn from this and do something kind of like this after studying her post.

Leave a Reply

